Integrative Health

What is health or integrative medicine?

“The term integrative medicine has not been coined in France in recent months or years. The concept is in full development in many countries around the world. In the United States, more than thirty medical universities claim to belong to integrative medicine.

The text below is available on the Duke University of North Carolina website.

“That therapists separate the mind from the body is a great mistake of our time when treating human beings” – Plato

The practice of medicine that reaffirms the importance of the doctor-patient relationship is now called integrative medicine. She is interested in the person as a whole, stays in touch with the evidence and uses all the most appropriate therapeutic approaches, therapists and specialties to access the best care for optimal health.

In a simpler way, it combines medical art with proven and well-selected complementary therapies.

The term integrative medicine is quite new to many people. It is the natural emergence of the mixture of different systems of care and cultures and ideas that are both ancient and modern.

Integrative medicine provides solutions for all periods of the continuum of care.

At one end of the continuum are prevention, diagnostic medical examination, surgery and medicine. This includes physiotherapy, nutrition, movement and sport, psychological care and complementary therapies such as acupuncture, phytotherapy, nutritional supplements, stress management and body and mind intervention techniques.

We often make the mistake of confusing integrative medicine with “complementary medicine” or “alternative medicine”. There is much more. It strongly emphasizes the importance and diagnostic and therapeutic limitations of the best conventional medical treatments and complementary therapies. As far as possible, it favours the least technologically complicated and least costly interventions. All factors that influence health and well-being will be taken into account, including psychosocial factors and the spiritual dimension of the person’s life.

This leads to a partnership between the patient and his different therapists to achieve the best health and care outcome.

Adding complementary treatment to medical treatment

Complementary therapies are often combined for the treatment of cardiovascular disease, cancer and other serious diseases. Scientific research and a wealth of evidence support this approach to health and care. For example, researchers have demonstrated that oriental techniques such as acupuncture, yoga, meditation and visualization can reduce stress and anxiety and improve physiological functioning to achieve a better therapeutic outcome.

In addition to scientific studies and care techniques, the coordination of different therapists is one of the cornerstones of integrative medicine. Your attending physician, surgeon, nurse, nutritionist, masseur and acupuncturist work in unison with you to achieve your health goals.

(Website: www.santeintegrative.com, accessed December 1, 2018)

 

A quick biography

Born of a naturopathic mother (Irène GROSJEAN) and a yoga teacher father, I “fell into the pot” of natural health from an early age.

When it came time to choose a profession, I wanted above all to “help” and “work with the “Human”. I am a scientist by training and Medicine has imposed itself on me to allow me to analyze, understand and advance knowledge.

However, throughout my studies, then as a general practitioner and then as an emergency doctor and then as a community health practitioner, I felt a deep, almost visceral need to “connect” the worlds of “western medicine” and “traditional medicines” in the sense of the WHO (World Health Organization).

In effect;

Why do we have to “choose” between one medicine or another, because we are users of the health system – citizens of one country or another?

Why deprive ourselves of the benefits, when they are proven, of this or that complementary health care and practices?

So I decided to train in medicine AND naturopathy, one of our traditional Western medicine.

As a priority to make the link and increase my possibilities of helping people.

But also to be an interpreter-translator of languages, sometimes so far away, from these different approaches to care.

And, above all, in order to enable those who place their trust in me to benefit from an openness to the world worthy of the 21st century

To be continued…

Sylvie GROSJEAN RASMUSSON.

SWould you like to receive our newsletter?

Health

Nature

Vitality

Santé Intégrative

Qu’est ce que la santé ou médecine intégrative ?

« Le terme médecine intégrative n’est pas né en France, ces derniers mois ou ces dernières années. Le concept est en plein développement dans de nombreux pays du monde. Aux Etats-Unis, plus de trente universités de médecine revendiquent d’appartenir à la médecine intégrative.

Le texte ci-dessous est présenté sur le site de l’université Duke de Caroline du Nord.

« Que les thérapeutes séparent l’esprit du corps est une grande erreur de notre époque lors du traitement des êtres humains » – Platon

La pratique de la médecine qui réaffirme l’importance de la relation médecin malade s’appelle désormais la médecine intégrative. Elle s’intéresse à la personne dans sa globalité, elle reste en contact avec les preuves et elle utilise toutes les approches thérapeutiques, les thérapeutes et les spécialités les plus appropriés pour accéder aux meilleurs soins pour une santé optimale.

De façon plus simple, elle combine l’art médical avec des thérapies complémentaires ayant fait leurs preuves et bien sélectionnées.

Le terme de médecine intégrative est assez nouveau pour beaucoup de personnes. C’est l’émergence naturelle du mélange de différents systèmes de soins et de cultures et d’idées à la fois anciens et modernes.

La médecine intégrative propose des solutions à toutes les périodes du continuum des soins.

À une des extrémités du continuum, il y a la prévention, l’examen médical à visée diagnostique, la chirurgie et la médecine. Ceci regroupe la kinésithérapie, la nutrition, le mouvement et le sport, les soins psychologiques et les thérapies complémentaires comme l’acupuncture, la phytothérapie, les compléments nutritionnels, les techniques de gestion du stress et d’intervention sur le corps et l’esprit.

On fait souvent l’erreur de confondre médecine intégrative et “médecine complémentaire” ou “médecine alternative”. Il y a beaucoup plus. Elle souligne fortement l’importance et la limite diagnostique et thérapeutique des meilleurs traitements médicaux conventionnels ainsi que des thérapies complémentaires. Autant que possible elle privilégie les interventions les moins compliquées sur un plan technologique et les moins coûteuses. Tous les facteurs qui influencent la santé et le bien-être seront pris en compte, même les facteurs psychosociaux et la dimension spirituelle de la vie de la personne.

Ceci débouche sur un partenariat entre le patient et ses différents thérapeutes pour arriver au meilleur résultat en matière de santé et de soin.

Ajouter un traitement complémentaire au traitement médical

Des thérapies complémentaires sont souvent associées pour le traitement de maladies cardiovasculaires, du cancer et d’autres maladies graves. La recherche scientifique et de nombreuses preuves appuient cette approche de la santé et du soin. Par exemple, les chercheurs ont démontré que les techniques orientales comme l’acupuncture, le yoga, la méditation et la visualisation peuvent diminuer le stress et l’anxiété et améliorer le fonctionnement physiologique pour obtenir un meilleur résultat thérapeutique.

En plus des études scientifiques et des techniques de soins, la coordination des différents thérapeutes est une des pierres angulaires de la médecine intégrative. Votre médecin traitant, votre chirurgien, votre infirmière, votre nutritionniste, votre masseur et votre acupuncteur travaillent à l’unisson avec vous pour arriver à vos objectifs de santé.

(Site Internet: www.santeintegrative.com, consulté le 1er décembre 2018)

 

Une rapide “bio”graphie

Née d’une mère naturopathe (Irène GROSJEAN) et d’un père professeur de yoga, je suis “tombée dans la marmite” de la santé naturelle dès mon plus jeune âge.

Lorsque vint le temps de choisir un metier, je voulais avant tout “aider” et “travailler avec “l’Humain”. Je suis scientifique de formation et LA Médecine s’est imposée à moi pour me permettre d’analyser, de comprendre, de faire avancer les connaissances.

Cependant, tout au long de mes études, ensuite comme médecin généraliste puis urgentiste puis praticien de santé communautaire, je ressentais le besoin profond, presque viscéral, de “relier” les mondes de la “western medicine” (médecine occidentale) et des “médecines traditionnelles” au sens de l’OMS (Organisation Mondiale de la Santé).

 

En effet,

Pourquoi devoir “choisir” entre une médecine ou une autre, parce que l’on est usager du système de santé – citoyen de tel ou tel pays?

Pourquoi se priver des bénéfices, lorsqu’ils sont avérés, de tels ou tels soins et pratiques de santé complémentaires?

 

J’ai donc décidé de me former à la médecine ET à la naturopathie, l’une de nos tradi-médecines occidentales.

En priorité pour faire le lien et augmenter mes possibilités d’aide auprès des personnes.

Mais aussi pour être une interprète-traductrice de langages, parfois si éloignés, de ces différentes approches de soins.

Et, avant tout, afin de permettre à celles et ceux qui m’accordent leur confiance, de bénéficier d’une ouverture au monde digne du XXIème siècle “pour accéder aux meilleurs soins, pour une santé optimale”.

À suivre…

 

Sylvie GROSJEAN RASMUSSON.

Souhaitez-vous recevoir notre newsletter ?

Santé

Nature

Vitalité